My Forever Hero

Yesenia Del Cid

Ms Alberico

English

December 22

My Forever Hero

Hello person who is reading this! Today I wrote about My Forever Hero. My forever hero is my grandmother- Hilda Dominguez! Why you ask? Well you will see.   My grandma’s life wasn’t easy, she went to america from Honduras  not knowing any english. Now that you know why  my grandma is a hero to me, let me talk about how she is a hero to me. The reason why I made this paper is to appreciate my grandma for having my mother and never giving up on her dream. The other reason why  I made this paper is because when I was little I used to hate talking to my grandma but now that I think about her past, her past was hard and now i look up to her.

My grandma is a hero because she was really independent, and even when things were tough she does not ever give up, even to this day. She moved to America because America has more opportunities  than Honduras for example, getting a job and making money, even though she made money in Honduras the  money she made wasn’t enough to help her survive.When she first moved to America she didn’t know english , since there was a  language  barrier it was harder for her to make money in America.

Another struggle that she had was that she didn’t have enough  money, but could  only afford an  apartment and nothing else. She used the cardboard boxes she had. She slept on the cardboard boxes for a whole night but when things looked down, things started to look up for my grandma.

She got married with a man who is who’s my grandpa who made a decent amount of money. She had two kids, the two kids were my mom and uncle .

Everything looked bright but then everything went downhill.She got divorced with my grandpa and had to take care of her kids all by herself but she had family from America and family in Honduras.. One of her family members  went to America  that person was her sister, but my grandma went to America legally while my grandma’s sister came to America  illegally, my grandma learned about this and payed for her sister to legally be in America.

When my grandma payed for her sister to be in America legally she opened up a salon shop to make money. Her sister ended up working there beside my grandma. My grandma worked really hard for her children. But my grandma worked so hard for her children that she didn’t have time to pick up her children from school  so they  took the bus when they were in 3rd grade Crazy right? My grandma knew that they would be safe.

My grandma is a hero because she is very independent and strong she has gone through so much but has accomplished more than I will ever accomplish. If she never gave up on her dreams, than I won’t give up on my dream either! I want to be like her that’s one of the few dreams I have.

But the conclusion is that she’s very independent and even though she had some hard times it didn’t  mean she will give up. And I hope that she will always be like this for the rest of her life.  

 

Works Cited

Del Cid, Jesenia. Personal interview. Pinole California. August 20.

Leave a comment